Just failed CCENT 1 this morning. Any advice?

BennyTheManBennyTheMan Member Posts: 76 ■■■□□□□□□□
I studied using CBT nuggetts and Boson software and Wendell Odom's book. This is the second time I failed, but I am not too down because I had ZERO previous networking experience prior to studying for this test. I am getting really close, but now could use some advice to get me over the hump. Here are my results. I feel I have a good understanding of routing and switching, but some of the material that I was asked, I felt was kind of random or not things I have come across using the mentioned materials or the packet tracer tutorials I used. Here are my results. Any advice greatly appreciated.

Network fundamentals 58
LAN switching fundamentals 63
Routing fundamentals 87
Infrastructure services 78
Infrastructure maintenance 75

Overall I got a 801 and I needed an 832. Also I don't get how these 5 categories average to 83.2%. I am assuming I am not far off, but I wish I knew exactly how the overall score is arrived at.

Thanks.

Benny

Comments

• networkfuzznetworkfuzz Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I'd say:
    Don't give up.
    Don't get frustrated.
    Keep practicing.
    I tried watching CBT nuggets and maybe it's just me, but I thought they were too vague and would fall asleep while listening to them. I probably got through the first 7-8 videos. While others find them beneficial, they weren't for me.
    Pick up Exam Cram. It breaks down the book by all five categories of the blueprint and you can focus more on the areas where you are weak.
    As far as how the scoring is calculated, that's a Cisco secret and I couldn't even guess how it's weighted.
    Don't worry, you'll get it!
  • BennyTheManBennyTheMan Member Posts: 76 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thank you
    I agree with you about CBT nuggets. Kind of anecdotal and I used to reinforce but not to learn new info.
  • thatguy67thatguy67 Member Posts: 344 ■■■■□□□□□□