Need to pass SY0401 before OCT 1, best advice?

compguy0203compguy0203 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have No IT background, just a couple degrees from College. PM mentioned we could use the Cert on our contract, offer me $8k if I can attain security+ certification within a month. My job duties wont change at all. Any way I can get this thing knocked out by then?

Comments

• clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    seems like Oct 1 is more like 3 weeks. And, how much time is he giving you off/how many days off can you take. Your going to need to study about 40 hrs/week. And, that test is filled with 3 letter acronyms. You don't know what they mean and how they apply to security, your never going to pass.
    How much studying can you do at work? I don't think it can be done. But, study your ass off and maybe you will pass. 8k vs failing a 320 exam. That is a nice risk/reward. of course, after 1 week of studying, you will know if you can do it
  • mirving171mirving171 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Please check out Prof. Messer on Youtube, his courses are free, and I personally have used his resources to help me pass the A+ and Net+ exams.

Here is the link:

https://www.professormesser.com/security-plus/sy0-401/sy0-401-course-index/

Best of luck to you!
  • marylandguymarylandguy Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Did u get use any book yet? . I recommend getting Daryl Gibson get certified get ahead online study versions and order book at the same time by the same author. Follow this regiment. 1. Read the chapters/ Do all test at least 3 times.Do all the PBQs. Try to get 90 after doing all the chapters. Then find all the free practices that are on this forum and do them for a change. Try to shoot for at 5 hours a day of study if you don,t have time off. Sometime, It is better to short deadline than long one. Read my previous post I literally had about 2-3 weeks of study to pass sec+ exam. Good luck!