Solaris 11 OCA 1z0-821

jcp1856jcp1856 Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
Since there isn't a thread on here for this exam I figured I'd start one. I'm currently studying for this bad boy and i'm using the Ernest Solaris 11 OCA book from Oracle Press and Watters Solaris 11.3 book along with some test engines.

Feel free to comment if you're studying for it as well and what path you're taking to study.

Comments

• kimmo88kimmo88 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I'm studying for 1z0-821 as well! At the moment, I'm reading "Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration Handbook" by Foxwell and Foster.
  • jcp1856jcp1856 Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
    cool! Do you work with Solaris a lot? How do you find the studying? Difficult?Easy?
    I used Solaris 8 before but it's already EOL(End-Of-Life). I'm also reading "OCA Solaris 11 System Administration 1z0-821 Exam guide" by Ernest.
  • lovejoilovejoi Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Guys can you write what kind of jobs you have that you using Solaris in it .
    lovejoi wrote: »
    Guys can you write what kind of jobs you have that you using Solaris in it .

sure...a good n lol. i'm a Solaris SA....wok with S10 and we are moving the S10 boxes to11.
    jcp1856 wrote: »
    sure...a good n lol. i'm a Solaris SA....wok with S10 and we are moving the S10 boxes to11.

Based on what I read, there is no automatic upgrade path from Solaris 10 to 11 due to mandatory ZFS on Solaris 11. So, upgrade has to be done manually!
    kimmo88 wrote: »
    Based on what I read, there is no automatic upgrade path from Solaris 10 to 11 due to mandatory ZFS on Solaris 11. So, upgrade has to be done manually!

yes that part is fun lol. Has anyone sat for 1z0-821 yet?
    Just finished reading these books by Oracle Press are really good! icon_thumright.gif

"Oracle Solaris 11 System Administration Handbook" by Foxwell and Foster.
    "OCA Solaris 11 System Administration 1z0-821 Exam guide" by Ernest.