Should I do CCNA before CCDA?

Paul_HPaul_H Member Posts: 7 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am looking to get my CCDA certification. My motivation is to expand my current skills as a Systems Architect to include some validated Cisco network design skills. I have a strong general networking background and currently design "smaller" networks to support classified system processing. Currently nothing more than a couple of managed switches and some rules to control traffic flow between systems. In the past I worked as a network admin for a state university.

I'm currently employed and have the resources and time to take additional certs before starting the Cisco design track. Does it make sense to get the CCNA R&S and/or CCNA Security before starting the CCDA? We do have Cisco equipment in house at my work, and I'll build a home lab if needed, so I can get some real-world CCNA experience.

Thanks for any input.
--
Paul

Comments

• MitMMitM Member Posts: 622 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I think having the knowledge of R&S, Security, Voice, and Wireless would be very helpful before taking the CCDA.

I don't think you can go wrong by taking the CCNA exams first.
  • ande0255ande0255 Banned Posts: 1,178
    CCNA Collab you really in my mind need to work with at your job to be able to pass and really utilize the material, as you don't really know how to troubleshoot issues until you have tickets coming in full of them :)

Wireless is something I think you could home lab along with R/S (and should), but the collab with the end points and licensing for servers and spinning up ESXi boxes and obtaining bootable images for said servers... its a lot of work unless you have VOIP engineers / CCIE Collabs that have terabyte hard drives in their backpack with every IOS Cisco's ever released just in case.
  • Seether12603Seether12603 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□