Passed the GPEN without an index!

ARGHturARGHtur Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Correction… without my own home build index…
So I passed my very first GIAC exam, the GPEN yesterday with a satisfying 80% pass, I’m not very good at tests… I like a more hands-on approach so just passing it is fine by me.
Well after doing the course the I began looking at the OnDemand material that I was given… and as a new thing (by popular request) SANS now includes an index of all the books.
I knew that when studying for a GIAC exam you had to create your own index as this is has been covered by many other people, when googling for how to prep for GIAC exams.
But now SANS includes one for free… so I thought that I didn’t need one and could skip this part…
well… yes and no…
After passing the exam one part of me is glad that I didn’t spend the time indexing every little thing that I thought would be of use during the exam because I would properly miss something anyways… so I spend that time playing in the labs instead.
But during the exam when trying to use the index I quite often couldn’t find what I was looking for… and that frustrated me a bit since this was also my first “open book” exam and not being able to use all that information that I had brought with me was frustrating… so maybe I should have made my own index??

Anyways you can make do with the premade index… I tweaked mine a bit after the first test-exam so it was easier to lookup page numbers... but doing the exam without having to lookup every answer I think makes you a better student... and lets face it you can't look everything up... you need to have some experience...

This is just my rant… if anyone is in the same position and don’t know what to do? I hope this helps a little…
Just my two cents… or in this case Coin icon_smile.gif

[img][/img]https://www.dropbox.com/s/fof6a7ih95oe7ju/GPEN%20exam.jpg
GPEN%20exam.jpg

Comments

• TechGromitTechGromit Member Posts: 2,156 ■■■■■■■■■□