Options

A+, ccent, and a little experience?

nnayr3nnayr3 Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
Back in July I passed and got my A+. I started working in a help desk role immediately, so for about 3 months. I recently obtained my CCENT and am ready to look for other jobs. I understand I am new to this industry and will likely be in some type of customer service role, but any ideas on what I should look for now that I have my A+, CCENT and a little experience.

I've heard a few people here say when you obtain certs to keep looking. Either they can’t get hired for anything else other than help desk or they have forgotten everything and bomb interviews.

Any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    NEODREAMNEODREAM Member Posts: 124 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Sounds like you are off to a great start, congrats on your recent accomplishments! In my opinion, I would keep gaining experience in your current role and study for your ICND2 to complete your CCNA: Routing and Switching since you already have your CCENT.
    Goal: eJPT Mar. 2020 | GDAT May 2020 | eCPPT Dec. 2020
  • Options
    Thanks! I really appreciate that.

I really hate the company I am at right now, and the distance from my house.

I was new to the industry and just took the first job. Would it be bad if I jumped to another company, but stayed there. I would like to be in a company where people actually have certs and want to be in IT not just a call center for anyone.
    NEODREAM wrote: »
    Sounds like you are off to a great start, congrats on your recent accomplishments! In my opinion, I would keep gaining experience in your current role and study for your ICND2 to complete your CCNA: Routing and Switching since you already have your CCENT.
  • Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□