CISM Provisionally Passed 9/29

cbdudekcbdudek Member Posts: 68 ■■■□□□□□□□
Took the CISM exam today and provisionally passed. Don't know what I got, but it said I would get results within 10 days.

I took and passed the CISSP back in April. Took a month break and then scheduled the CISM when a discount came up for August/September testing dates.

All I studied was the Q&A Database. I went through 50-100 questions per day. Started testing in the 65%-70% range. Finished in the 80-85% range. I studied from June until my testing date. If I missed a question, I went back to understand why I missed it. I felt very confident I was going to pass before I took the test.

During the test I flagged 30 questions for review, didn't change a single answer. I was able to eliminate 2 answers from just about every question. I finished in about 2 hours and that was with a 15 minute break.

The testing center was nice, but I wasn't the most impressed with the process. The testing computer stopped working part way through the exam, and then I had an issue with the test "not responding" and crashing. At least I wasn't penalized from a time perspective. I preferred the testing center I had with the CISSP. It was much more formal and structured. It also seemed like the equipment was much better maintained.

The other thing that irritated me is that I "provisionally passed" on the screen, but I couldn't get any proof on paper of that. I couldn't take my phone in to take a picture of the provisionally passed screen and the supervisor got no notification and couldn't print anything off to show I passed. Guess I will just have to wait and see how this goes.

Overall, if you have 5 years in management and IT security, you should be fine with just the database.

Comments

• averageguy72averageguy72 Member Posts: 323 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats!