GREM passed!

gespensterngespenstern Member Posts: 1,243 ■■■■■■■■□□
Passed today. 92%. No index (I like to make it tough). No books.

The company I work for paid for "on-demand" SANS FOR610 version + exam attempt.

I have about 8 years malware analysis experience back and forth, but it's more of a hobby for me, for the most part I do architecture stuff. Plus I worked as a DOS x86 assembly developer in 90-s. No surprise that the assembly was my strongest area, web security stuff was the weakest.

Scored 90%-100% on chapter quizzes, but only 77% on a practice exam. No idea how, but I think that the practice exam is tougher than the real one, I've had a few questions there I literally had no idea what they asked me, despite having high score on post-chapter quizzes which one would think assures that the material was digested well.

My initial plan was to bring in all the course books (6 rather thick books) and flag the questions I am not sure about to review them later with books. Little did I know about GIAC exams, LOL! You CANNOT flag and review them later! Ended up not touching a single book. Yeah, it was my first SANS/GIAC course/exam!

Many questions were straight-forward, some were tricky and a few were very complex, I spent like 10 mins on one questing with assembly listing and a debugger screenshot calculating register values as I stepped through the instructions in my head.

Hooray! :)

I also would like GIAC to revoke "open-book" option from all their exams so we can have more suffering! :)

Comments

• fabostrongfabostrong Member Posts: 215 ■■■□□□□□□□