I have a physics degree and getting A+

microwattmicrowatt Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have ba in physics and was wondering if this would hurt me in finding a job with entry level. should I leave the degree off my resume ?

Comments

• NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Definitely leave it on. A lot of employers just want to see you have a degree and don't even care what it is in.
  • DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    + 1 on the degree. Physics degree is a STEM degree leave it, it's a huge value add.
  • EagerDinosaurEagerDinosaur Member Posts: 114
    These days it seems that almost every job requires a degree (in the UK at least), so probably best to leave it on. I reckon a Physics background is a pretty good starting point for most IT roles.
  • EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I always give a +1 to someone with a STEM/technical degree, as opposed to a humanities major.
  • dmoore44dmoore44 Member Posts: 646
    I work with a few people with hard science (Physics, Chemistry, etc...) degrees, so no, I don't think it'll hurt you at all.
    Graduated Carnegie Mellon University MSIT: Information Security & Assurance Currently Reading Books on TensorFlow
  • --chris----chris-- Member Posts: 1,518 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I worked with a guy with a BS from MSU in kinesiology, his current employer requires a BS for his position...they did not care what it was. He used to be a junior high gym teacher.
  • Moldygr33nb3anMoldygr33nb3an Member Posts: 241
    That's awesome! Why would you even consider hiding that? People with a STEM degree, almost always have a greater understanding of theory and logic; especially with a background in physics!
    Current: OSCP

Next: CCNP (R&S and Sec)

Follow my OSCP Thread!
    That's awesome! Why would you even consider hiding that? People with a STEM degree, almost always have a greater understanding of theory and logic; especially with a background in physics!