CISSP Pass 9/29/17

Leftya88Leftya88 Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
Background

I studied for 4 months, on average for an hour or two a day, depending on the amount of free time I had. Some days I wouldn't have much time but would still try to at least watch one 10 minute video on Cybrary. If i was reading, my goal would be 20-30 pages a day. I continued this slow and steady strategy til I had completed the Sybex guide, then took an initial practice test. I focused on my weakest areas from there with targeted reading and videos, and domain practice tests. The last thing I did was read the 11th hour guide a week out for a final review.

I've been in IT for 6 years, background in military, mainly networking.

Prep Materials:

-Sybex Study Guide & Official Practice Tests- Read through completely, and took both official practice tests, and domain and end of chapter tests.
-Eric Conrad 3rd Edition- Used as a secondary reference, to explain things more concisely when the explanation in Sybex was as dry as a bone.
-11th Hour - Read through completely a week before the test up to three days prior to test.
-Kelly Handerhan Videos- Watched over the course of study period. Very good videos, highly recommend watching the whole series, and free too!
-Sari Greene Videos- Watched the short version (6 hr course) with a 10 day free trial to SafariBooks about a month out. Good for hammering in some of those obscure frameworks and processes.
-CCCure Question Bank- bought the one month subscription. Questions not like those on the test, but good in my opinion for drilling in knowledge. Used professional and hard difficulties especially for domain specific exams to test knowledge.

The Exam:

Strategy