CyberCop's OSCP blog

CyberCop123CyberCop123 Member Posts: 338 ■■■■□□□□□□
Thought I'd join the party and do my own blog, particularly as I feel there may be a long road ahead icon_silent.gif

About Me
  • I'm 33 and work full time for the Police, mainly in digital forensics
  • From 16-20 I studied IT in both college and University getting a HND
  • I then did 3 years as a PHP web developer
  • I then took a break of about 7 years in IT and now back in there with a renewed passion for it.
  • I'm very strong with Linux, having used it as a desktop OS for years and also done quite a lot of basic administration of web servers, etc... I am most comfortable on the command line.
  • My knowledge of Windows is basic, I can use it, I can use cmd to some extent but don't know much about administrating it. I have plans to do the MCSA at some stage to try to brush up on this area.
  • I'm quite comfortable with Python Scripting and Bash too. I've not done any C really.
Why OSCP

My current career path has basically no development, particularly as I'm not an expert in digital forensics and don't really want to be. It's not my bag really.
I'm keen to get into Cyber Security. Pen testing is one avenue but I'm not dead set on it, but I enjoy the hacking side and have done about 2-3 Vulnhub VM's. I nearly signed up for the CEH but resented the fact that it was such a lot of money for not a lot of proof or knowledge, i.e. I know some who have this and they know very little about IT, networks, security, etc... They can tell you that "nmap is used for scanning" and that's about it.

The OSCP I hope would provide some hands on, useful, technical knowledge and experience and some fun too. It's the first stage in my plan and maybe in the future will do the CISSP as I see it is often requested by employers.

My OSCP Plan

I signed up for 90 days worth of labs as many had recommended this.

Plan was:

Weeks 1-3 read the PDF and watch videos