Options

Accenture Breach

ClmClm Member Posts: 444 ■■■■□□□□□□
I'm currently studying up for cloud and my studies have shown multiple ways of not allowing this to happen.
What are your thoughts? Lack of understanding of the products or human error like equifax

Accenture latest to breach client data due to misconfigured AWS server | Healthcare IT News
I find your lack of Cloud Security Disturbing!!!!!!!!!
Connect with me on LinkedIn https://www.linkedin.com/in/myerscraig

Comments

• Options
    PhalanxPhalanx Member Posts: 331 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Well, from my own limited knowledge of AWS, buckets aren't public by default (I use them for our cloud backups) when made, so I would say human error here. But as I mention, I have limited knowledge.
    Client & Security: Microsoft 365 Modern Desktop Administrator Associate | MCSE: Mobility
    Server & Networking: MCSA: Windows Server 2016 | MTA: Networking Fundamentals
    Data Privacy & Project/Service Management: PECB GDPR DPO/Practitioner | ITIL 2011: Foundation | CompTIA Project+
    Currently Studying: Microsoft 365 Enterprise Administrator Expert
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Correct, you HAVE to make those buckets public, which is what people responsible for them are doing out of either laziness, stupidity, or plain old negligence. No different that "sysadmins" exposing crap to the Internet without applying proper security controls. Time Warner, Dow Jones, Verizon, City of Chicago voting records, military data, and many more have been hit by this.

There's a very good thread elsewhere here from a month or two ago about abusing the term "Cloud Architect" that pretty much summarizes how we got here.
  • Options
    ClmClm Member Posts: 444 ■■■■□□□□□□
    As always thank you for your input.