Options

Best options for multiple vendor study lab? White box or Nucs

GBAKER2204GBAKER2204 Member Posts: 91 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hoping to get a steer on how best to decide on whether to go for multiple NUCs or a single high spec white box pc for VMWARE/MS and Citrix certification. I suspect that my current lab isn't likely to cope (AMD A6 quad-core/16Gb RAM) with the below.

I am currently in what I expect to be in a unique position where I can invest in a lab (inheritance - approx £1800 budget+ EvalExperience), where previously cost has prevented doing so (married with 2 children and a mortgage, normally with other more family orientated costs to save for pay for). I don't want to waste the opportunity to build a lab that may be useable for a good number of years going forward, without massive energy costs or large amounts of space being taken up. Whilst a cheap second hand server may be an option I am concerned about the energy costs and noise associated.

I currently work as an infrastructure operations engineer, so work with a good range of technologies (VSphere/Citrix/Netapp/Cisco/various Linux distributions/MS Servers/System Center). Currently VCP-DCV certified, looking at VCAP or other VCPs, have taken the CCA-V course so looking at building out a lab for that too (do Citrix do cheap/reasonably priced labs?), and need to upgrade my MCITP 2008 to 2012/2016 before the upgrade paths disappear.

After a couple of busy years where life got in the way of study I now want to move forward and get the above started.

Any thoughts or suggestions greatly appreciated.
WIP: 2017 - VCP6.5-DCV (Achieved), VCAP6-DCV, Citrix CCA-V

Comments

• Options
    thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□