Security+ Tips and Advice

blackbearblackbear Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone,

After lurking on this site for awhile I decided to register. I hope to grow together with everyone in this community :)

I am currently going to study for the Security+ certification I plan to use it as a way to get a internship in Arizona.
I recently acquired Darill Gibson's Study Guide for the SY0-401. I plan on using this and Professor Messer's videos to prep for the exam.
I'd like to receive any tips you recommend me to take I am new to InfoSec and I'd appreciate any past advice you have from your experience.

Best Regards,
Blackbear

Comments

• mikey88mikey88 Member Posts: 495 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Hello Blackbear,

Print out the exam objectives and check off the areas one by one as you go through the book and the videos. If you still didn't fully grasp the content, then research further. When going through practice questions, understand why the correct answers are correct, and incorrect are incorrect.

During the exam. use process of elimination on everything and not don't just pick the first correct answer that you see.

Good luck.
    Certs: CISSP, CySA+, Security+, Network+ and others | 2019 Goals: Cloud Sec/Scripting/Linux

• NetworkingStudentNetworkingStudent Member Posts: 1,407 ■■■■■■■■□□
    blackbear wrote: »
    Hello Everyone,

After lurking on this site for awhile I decided to register. I hope to grow together with everyone in this community :)

I am currently going to study for the Security+ certification I plan to use it as a way to get a internship in Arizona.
    I recently acquired Darill Gibson's Study Guide for the SY0-401. I plan on using this and Professor Messer's videos to prep for the exam.
    I'd like to receive any tips you recommend me to take I am new to InfoSec and I'd appreciate any past advice you have from your experience.

Best Regards,
    Blackbear