What do I need to do/have if I want to work in GRC but skip SOC/NOC

SnooperSnooper Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am quite keen to work in GRC, TRA etc. but have limited exposure to GRC directly, infact very little. I have quite a few years experience of PC/Network and Physical security. I have worked on as Systems Admin and with Networking as well. Having spent 15 years in IT and cyber security, I want to move directly into GRC. But have been told by many that I do need to start at NOC/SOC level. I see this as a big step down and a bit discouraging.
I am fully prepared to learn what it takes to come upto speed for GRC roles like Information Security Consultant be it getting certificates like CISM CISA etc. or get some specialized training and can even take a hit on my income for few weeks or months. The questions are
1. is it possible for someone with limited infosec experience to jump straight into GRC and skip noc/soc altogether?
2. if yes, what do I need to do or learn and from where? (may be learn real life experience from cissps/cisms working in this line?)

Comments

• TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    1. Yes it’s possible...whoever told you that YOU HAVE TO START NOC/SOC are incorrect.

2. Did I miss something? You said you had 15 years in IT and cyber security...can you explain that further? You should be working towards your CISSP and I would do CISA too. Additionally, you can start reviewing frameworks like NIST 800 series, COBIT, and any others that pertain to your organization you work in right now...ISO/HIPAA/PCI etc.

What is the reason you want to be in GRC? Realize that in true GRC roles, your technical skills aren’t going to get used near as often...some people are ok with that and some hate it.
  • SnooperSnooper Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
    TechGuru80 wrote: »
    2. Did I miss something? You said you had 15 years in IT and cyber security...can you explain that further?