Another "should I take this or that" Thread

codyspooncodyspoon Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone, I decided its time to take a new cert. Im a Lead Field Engineer by trade, and spend most of the day configuring Firewalls, switches, and Wireless before deploying onsite to install for the customer. Alot of my Cert background is vender specific (ex:Watchguard, Meraki, and Sonicwall) However I also have a few CompTia and MS exams under my belt(A+, Net+, MTA-NW) I want to get something that I will enjoy and will translate well to my current and future jobs. I started studying for the MCSA 2012r2 410 test but have had a hard time staying interested even with a home lab. I feel very strongly towards the Network infrastructure more than I do sys Admin. I would like to do a cert that focus's on the Network side. Im leaning towards CCENT\CCNA, as I feel I could greatly benefit from knowing more about routing and switching. Ive also thought about Security+ and even just sucking it up and finishing the MCSA since i have the material. I have roughly an hour a night that I could devote to studying. Luckily Im blessed to work for a company that will pay for everything including study materials.

-For the MCSA I already have William Paneks Sybrex 410 book and a few courses on Udemy.

-for the CCNA , I might be able to snag a few Cisco switches from work. For studying material I already have a Wendell Odom book my work recently purchased and the Bulldog training series on Udemy.

any advice, recomendations or any other info would be appreciated as Im struggling on making a decision. Thanks guys!!!

Comments

• TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Go for CCNA, simple. You will find this cert will add more value based on your current tasks and it wilk be more beneficial im the long run too.
  • codyspooncodyspoon Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    What Study material do you suggest? is what I have good enough?
  • JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod