Juniper vs Cisco tracks

aptgetaptget Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys. I have been in the healthcare IT field but have been thinking about getting deeper into networking field. It seems the more I learn about networking the less I know. One aspect of that is choosing between Juniper vs Cisco tracks. With market share highly in Cisco's favor, would it be logical to assume that a high level of Juniper knowledge would be more advantageous as it has less ubiquity and less trained people? This forum is heavy CCNA but very little on Juniper as evidence of Cisco's pull. I guess my question is does anyone here prefer the road less travel with Juniper and has it helped there career progression? Also, any books or video training recommendations for tackling the JNCIA? I am currently studying Network+ material and then hope to specialize. Thanks.

Comments

• JoshGarmon47JoshGarmon47 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I feel that too many people know about Cisco.

It seems to be in every Educational Institution.

Be prepared to study though.

As far as what you can do on a Cisco device vs. what you can do on a Juniper device, Cisco is very deep, it never ends, Juniper I am finding is even MORE technical.
  • aptgetaptget Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I feel that too many people know about Cisco.

It seems to be in every Educational Institution.

Be prepared to study though.

As far as what you can do on a Cisco device vs. what you can do on a Juniper device, Cisco is very deep, it never ends, Juniper I am finding is even MORE technical.

Thanks. They both seem to be legit tracks. I figure if I would go down one road I would explore both first before diving in. Riches are in the niches as I once heard that has stuck with me. I was just curious if that would hold true for Juniper vs Cisco.
    Also, I just put in my name for the fast track program Juniper is releasing soon. I will update if I take the course. Seems to be related to JNCIA cert to start.