Decided to get my CCNA Security...now what?

zholling10zholling10 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
hey guys,

I got my CCNA R&S in 2014 right before I finished my undergrad degree. Since then, I got a job as an application developer and haven't had the chance to use my Cisco knowledge. My CCNA R&S is up for renewal this December and I would like to get my CCNA Security if possible by then. I currently am also getting a masters degree in IT Security so I figured that paired with a CCNA Security would be a match made in heaven! So any suggestions on self study materials? I keep finding mixed reviews out there. Thanks in advance! Hope I can do this in four months.

Comments

• labscloudlabscloud Member Posts: 137 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Check out Chris Bryants CCNA-SEC course on Udemy, I'm starting it once I pass my R&S here soon.
  • mbarrettmbarrett Member Posts: 397 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The CBT Nuggets course is also pretty good.
  • xagreusxagreus Member Posts: 112 ■■■■□□□□□□
    From the perspective of someone who's also studying for the CCNA Security, here's my take:

+1 for Chris Bryant's CCNA Security course. It's on sale for $10 until 8/31/17. I started it earlier this month, and it's good so far. As I watch the videos, I'm filling in the exam topics line by line, and will supplement that with other online/print materials (probably the Official Cert Guide and 31 Days Before Your CCNA Security Exam).

My employer provides SkillSoft, so I'm going to check out that course, too - you might try that out, if you have access to SkillSoft.

I've never used CBT Nuggets, but I hear lots of good things about their courses.

HTH!
    A+, Net+, Sec+, CySA+, CCNA, ITIL 2011 Foundation, AWS CCP, ISC2 CC, MS SC-900, MS AZ-900
    2024 goals: AZ-900, Cloud+, Palo Alto PCNSA, CyberOps Associate, DevNet Associate, Project+
  • zholling10zholling10 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□