Get more certifications, MBA or nothing at all?

relegatedrelegated Member Posts: 81 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have been working in IT since I graduated in 2004 with a BS in network and communications management. I have my A+ (2001), Security+ (2013), SSCP (2016), CSSA (2017), CSSP (2017), MCP & MCSA (2014). Let me state that I don't like school, studying for or taking certifications (I have failed multiple times). That being said I think they have served me well.

I have lived mostly in the Dell/Windows/VMware/SonicWall most of my career which is fine but do enjoy security. I have wanted my CISSP for a long time, I even studied for it but never took it. Also seems I can upgrade my MCSA 2012 to MCSE 2016 with a single exam however I have found MS tests to be the most difficult by far. I have also looked into maybe getting my MBA from WGU. The last caveat is that I would like my company to pay for whatever I do, doubt they will do MBA.

So any suggestions, I don't really need to get anything else but I suppose it would be good.

Comments

• EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you dislike studying, you joined the wrong career field. No one says you have to keep working on certifications but studying is part of staying in place with systems administration, networking and security. As the saying goes "if you aren't moving forward, you're moving backward".

Figure out what you want and why and figure out what your company would want and why and see if there's any overlap.
  • stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    EANx wrote: »
    If you dislike studying, you joined the wrong career field. No one says you have to keep working on certifications but studying is part of staying in place with systems administration, networking and security. As the saying goes "if you aren't moving forward, you're moving backward".

Figure out what you want and why and figure out what your company would want and why and see if there's any overlap.

That is solid advice!