Options

MCSA Study Timeline

johnITjohnIT Member Posts: 91 ■■■□□□□□□□
I want to get my MCSA as a nice Christmas Present for myself. Since I've never taken a Microsoft Exam before, I've been studying for the 70-410 exam for a few months casually. Now that I scheduled my first test for Nov 9, I've been studying a good 5-8 hours a day since last Monday. It's ten days away and I'm still very nervous because I'm a horrible test taker, but I'm trying to stay positive.

So with that in mind, I was planning to take the 70-411 near Thanksgiving. Probably the Nov 23 or something. That gives me only one full week (14 days) to study for the 411. Is that enough time in between the two tests? Then I was planning on scheduling the 70-412 around Christmas. Which is a lot more weeks between the 411 and 412. Is 411 the easiest of the tests?

If my studying does not pay off for my first test and I fail, of course I will not be doing this timeline, and I won't schedule the 70-411 until I see how well I do on the 70-410.
Working on: A+, MCSE Server 2012

Comments

• Options
    srocky26srocky26 Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I found the 411 to be the most difficult of the three exams, it was the only one I failed and I work with some of those technologies. I believe I spent a month studying before my first attempt and then another week prepping for my second attempt. The exam topics themselves aren't difficult, but you need to know how they work, how to configure them, and how to troubleshoot.
  • Options
    poolmanjimpoolmanjim Member Posts: 285 ■■■□□□□□□□
    First, in my opinion, you have a pretty crazy timeline. However, if you have lots of work experience with Server 2012 or have previous certifications with Microsoft, I can imagine that this may be doable.