Options

OSCP - Getting Started

cjthedj45cjthedj45 Member Posts: 331 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I was hoping some advice for starting the OSCP journey. My background is mainly technical working in network security, security analyst, incident handler, security manager and information security officer roles. I recently passed the GCIH and this was my first introduction into some of the offensive techniques, so first time using Kali, metasploit and Linux.

I think it may be worth honing my skills before attempting the course and have the pressure of the deadline for the exam. Can anyone recommend training resources that would complement the OSCP course and ensure I'm ready to take on the course?

Or would anyone say that the GCIH is a good starting point and to just go for the course?

Any advice is much appreciated

Comments

• Options
    BuzzSawBuzzSaw Member Posts: 259 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It's hard for me to understand what your experience level is. So you've been in security roles?

If you are starting from scatch, I would recommend starting with something like Georgia's Pen Testing course on Cybrary, along with reading her book. I would also pick up something like the The Hacker Playbook - Read through those then try your hand at some of the VM's on Vulnhub

Or ...

If you have time and some money, I would recommend maybe going through something like eJPT

Or ...

you could just dive right now. If you have the money to buy 90 days worth of lab time its a good starting point. The course itself will not teach you everything you need to know. It will give you a loose outline, and your goal is to self-learn as much as possible. I read on here a lot about people spending months and month in preparing the take the course that is supposed to prepare you for the exam.