Just a reminder to stay on top of your certifications, knowledge wise

NoNameNoobNoNameNoob Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
I started studying for the CCNP R&S exams in January and was able to get certified in August. During this time I was and still am working in a NOC as a tier 1 person. We don't receive any type of ccnp level work but I wanted to increase my knowledge. After passing the CCNP in August, I began studying for security+ out of personal interest. I passed the exam in October. Followed by that I ended up joining WGU and started studying for those classes to work towards getting my degree.

I recently ended up taking a peak at some job boards and saw one I was interested in. I applied and have an in person interview next week for a network engineer role. Now i'm putting back WGU studies for the time being to review networking. If I had this interview in August after passing the ccnp and everything fresh in mind, I'd be feeling pretty confident. Here I am 3 months later and in that time frame I haven't been keeping up with my labs or reading in depth to keep networking fresh. I'm not saying I forgot all the information but Im not where I would like to be right now, just because i've been studying different topics.

I'll have to make a point from here on out to set a side a few hours a week for studying/labs to keep everything fresh. Staying on top of everything you learn is pretty tough but I guess it'd be a lot better if your job role involves what you studied. Well.. back to studying. Thx for reading.

Comments

• TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Good luck man.
  • yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    This is why I'm not going to go beyond CCNA and why I sort of dread putting in 50-100 hours towards learning Python over the next 2 months. All that hard work will just atrophy if I ever take a break. Good luck with the interview and if things work out and you land the job, maybe you can keep your CCNP skills sharp on the job.