Is the Cisco TAC a good place to work?

dontstopdontstop Member Posts: 579 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi all,

I've mentioned on here before that I'm looking at making the transition from SysAdmin to Networking Engineer/Support Engineer and I'm trying to find my break. I'm in Australia/Sydney and I'm struggling to find places to work that will give me the experience with networking to the depth that I'm after. Either most of them advertise roles which are well beyond my experience level and their not interested in hiring newbies or they you're typical NOC JOAT with poor career progression prospects.

I have noticed a trend while modeling the careers of others via Linkedin, most seem to make their way up through a TAC such as Cisco's. I'm wondering if this is a good role to chase and what I might need to obtain to get a look in from them? It seems they generally hire out of University and I graduated in 2011 so I might have missed the "get them young" boat.

Some things I'd like to get out of the role:
  • Exposure to multiple customer networks, I don't like the idea of early on being exposed to a single SME network like I have in previous roles. You learn very little from this and generally the smaller networks don't need much care and feeding compared to the larger enterprise networks.
  • A role in which Engineering of networks is a thing, too many SME roles are just plug and play networks with no real planning or thought.
Any information would be great.

Regards,
Jason.

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I did some time in high level TAC for a vendor. It's not terribly fulfilling work, and I didn't enjoy it much at all honestly. You don't really "engineer" anything in TAC. It's all post sales/implementation. I supported very large customers (Googles of the world etc.), so they had extremely bright people in their companies already, and the vast majority of the issues they needed assistance with were software bugs.