Thoughts on the course list for this "Network Security" Diploma?

Bobby AxelrodBobby Axelrod Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello fellow TEs users,

I wrote a while back about starting a career in IT and could really benefit from learning your thoughts on the program I'm considering.

A bit of context: I graduated with a business degree in 2015, shortly after I was hired into a business focused role by my current employer; a company that provides cloud security training/consulting, plus authorized training for vendor-neutral certs (e.g. ISC2, ISACA, EC-Council, Cloud Security Alliance ... etc.). Over the past two years my interest in starting a career in IT has grown significantly, down the road I'd be interested in eventually getting into the information security/risk mgmt space. But with no formal education in IT, or experience, I was hoping to find a local program that could provide me with a solid foundation to start a career in IT.

Long story short, I've found an accredited private career college in my city that offers a full time 48-week "Network Security" diploma program. To me it seems more networking than security, but I'm new to this so what do I know? Haha. Anyways, I'd love to learn your thoughts on the course list for the program:
  • CompTIA A+ and Network+ Certification
  • MS Windows 10
  • MS Server 2012
  • Installing and Configuring Windows Server 2012
  • Administering Windows Server 2012
  • MS AZURE Fundamentals
  • Core Solutions of Microsoft Exchange Server 2013
  • Cisco CCNA – Routing & Switching
  • Linux
  • Sophos & Fortinet Security I and Labs
  • Internetworking Technology Labs & Certification Preparation
Interestingly enough in addition to the diploma you also walk away with some industry certs which is always helpful.

So here are my questions:

1. How does this course load look to you?