Options

Passed CISSP - First attempt

mithrandirrmithrandirr Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I passed my CISSP exam recently. I'm an infosec professional with experience mostly in network security.
I was thinking of CISSP certificate for nearly 7 years, initial aim was to first get associate certificate but could not properly start preparation.
One of my colleague shared forum link for refrence before starting CISSP preparation in 2015, after which I really understood the scope of CISSP.

I had intermediately tried to prepare for certification so Its not like I prepared continuously for 30-60 days, its on-off preparation for last two years.
I have outlined my approach on studying for the exam below.

1. Cybrary---> video's are helpfull but I found listing to mp3 very useful.
2. Shon haris ----> detailed and old but still helpfull
3. Book: Eleventh Hour CISSP® Study Guide, Third Edition by Eric Conrad---> it is brief, easy to read and can help you get idea about all the KB required for certification.
4. Book: Sybex CISSP Study Guide, Seventh Edition ---> this one is my favorite It covers lot of topics which are not mention in above material and which is explained in detail.
5. I used practive exam from Sybex/Wiley(Kind of easy) and syngress(little tough but very helpful and prepares mindset for exam)
6. I also refered combined notes and sunflower notes in last days. combined notes are life saver as I did not prepared noted inadvanced also flash card from sybex is really usefull.

I felt exam was little tough, it contained very few easy questions, it took me nearly 4:30 hrs to complete all questions and 30 mins to go through questions marked for review

Now I feel that I should have took little different approach while preparing for certification.