Moving for a job experiences

boxerboy1168boxerboy1168 Member Posts: 395 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I come to you with more questions yay!!!!

So I am probably going to move in a few months to take an IT job in California and I honestly can't wait.

Have any of you moved across country for a job before?

Did you know anyone where you moved?

How did you go about finding a living situation or did you rent a hotel??
Currently enrolling into WGU's IT - Security Program. Working on LPIC (1,2,3) and CCNA (and S) as long term goals and preparing for the Security+ and A+ as short term goals.

Comments

• shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Just buy an RV & do remote tech support on the road, sleep/park in Walmart parking lots or state parks...lol
    CompTIA A+, Network+, i-Net+, MCP 70-210, CNA v5, Server+, Security+, Cloud+, CySA+, ISC² CC, ISC² SSCP
  • boxerboy1168boxerboy1168 Member Posts: 395 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I would love to do remote tech support but I have no experience
    Currently enrolling into WGU's IT - Security Program. Working on LPIC (1,2,3) and CCNA (and S) as long term goals and preparing for the Security+ and A+ as short term goals.
  • McxRisleyMcxRisley Member Posts: 494 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I recently moved from the midwest to the east coast for a new job. I didn't know anybody there except 2 people that I had meet online and was going to be working with. I found a place to rent by using various realty sites. Long story short, I packed me and my family up, moved them half way across the country only to have depression slowly set in and hate life. We made it 6 months before I got my old job back and moved back home. While you may not have this same experience, I'm just sharing what happened to me.
    I'm not allowed to say what my previous occupation was, but let's just say it rhymes with architect.
    you were able to acquire a location without actually physically being present?