Best use of time....

StaatzeeStaatzee Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

So I've found myself in an interesting situation right now in my life and I'm trying to make sure I maximize the time I currently have. I'm a recent graduate of UMUC with BoS in computer networks and cybersecurity. I felt it was a great program and helped me gain a ton of knowledge. Anyways to my current situation..

I've moved overseas with my wife and son to Australia. Unfortunately due to their nightmare of a spouse visa application process, I'm stuck on a visitor visa waiting for the spouse one to come through. While I'm on the visitor visa I cant work at all in Australia, which has happened to leave me with a fair bit of free time. Once my spouse visa is granted, I want to jump into the IT field straight away.

Currently I only have my degree to my name and dont have any previous IT job related experience (Used to play baseball, had to hang it up for a real job). I'm currently studying/about to take the CompTIA A+ cert to at least add something to my degree. After that I'm wondering how I should be using my time? I eventually want to end up in cybersecurity and know that I have a bit of distance ahead of me before I can land one of those positions.

Should I push ahead and study for the Network+/ Security+ or CCNA/CCSP or push for MCSA/MCSE? I took classes covering networking/system admin and Cisco so I'm at least familiar with all the cert topics. I guess I'm having trouble connecting the dots from A+ and most likely a help desk job (to start) to more certs and jobs that will get me to cybersecurity positions.