Junior Systems Administrator making 45k in NYC

routingbyrumorroutingbyrumor Member Posts: 93 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi, guys I was wondering if this is an average range that a Junior Administrator makes? I just took an offer as a Junior Systems Administrator managing Unix and Linux servers at this rate? Is this a average rate? A little about me just graduated college with about 2 years experience in Networking, I have been a technician for most of the time and helpdesk for the rest. Is this a good start?

Comments

• blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Any start is a good start. Don't be so worried about the money right now (which by the way is OK for your experience level)
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • routingbyrumorroutingbyrumor Member Posts: 93 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks blargoe, I'll take your advice I guess with more experience comes better pay. The money will come eventually I hope.
  • famosbrownfamosbrown Member Posts: 637
    Yeah...I agree...if you can take a job for less money to get the administration experience needed to make the big bucks, take it.
    B.S.B.A. (Management Information Systems)
    M.B.A. (Technology Management)
  • garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    Those are the jobs that land you "the job"
  • DeJayDeJay Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
    45K is a fair salary for that job in the midwest, but I think in NYC a fair salary for a junior sys admin would be closer to 70K.
  • RATTLERMANRATTLERMAN Member Posts: 151
    I guess its all about getting that start.

What types of tasks would a "Jr Net Admin " do

In the Atl its hard to find Jr positions you either doing helpdesk/desktop support or Net Admin not much in btwn.