Sec+ in 2 months...starting from...now!

si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
Hey all,

My workplace has said I have to do the Sec+. So I am giving myself 2 months. In truth, since I studied back in 2015 for 90 days solid for the OSCP, i've lost every single ounce of motivation to pass exams. The OSCP was draining and sapped up the last bits of love I had for IT. That being said, I did get my PGCert (1/3 of a MSc degree) and other achievements after the OSCP such as my Linux+.

But I digress. I've got 2 months to pass the Sec+. I'm on chapter 3 of the book and so far, it's very easy. Although i've looked up some sample questions and it looks like it's going to get tougher soon. It'll be nice to get another Comptia cert.

I'm also hoping that this might be the exam that makes me love IT/security again. I will update this post as I go along and hopefully within 8 weeks, i'll have taken the exam.

Thanks for looking!

Comments

• shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□
    CompTIA A+, Network+, i-Net+, MCP 70-210, CNA v5, Server+, Security+, Cloud+, CySA+, ISC² CC, ISC² SSCP
  • si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
    shochan wrote: »

Haha that is some great motivation right there! Thanks!
  • shoeyshoey Member Posts: 111 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Uhmmmm... What? You've got your OSCP but your job is making you get your Sec+?! Must be a gov't job, right? I can't imagine this happening in the private sector.
    "I have missed more than 9,000 shots in my career. I have lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I've been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I've failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed." - Michael Jordan
    shoey wrote: »
    Uhmmmm... What? You've got your OSCP but your job is making you get your Sec+?! Must be a gov't job, right? I can't imagine this happening in the private sector.