Failed June 23rd, now what?

raxmanraxman Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello friends,

I have a degree in Computer Science and I've had a security job for over 5 years. I am a very technical individual as in my free time I program. This test is extra difficult for me as I do not have the mindset of a high-level manager. I have a certification in Security+ and Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH). Both these tests were, you study for them, read the book and you're okay. For Security+, I studied for 3 months, read a book and I passed with a high %. For the CEH, I read 2 books and made a ton of notecards. I studied the notecards as I went for walks. It wasn't bad, just needed to know all the different kind of tools and how to read/use them.

For the CISSP, I did a lot of practice tests from place like: Certification Central - CISSP®, the sybex book, the shon harris book and various other places.

I learned the different ways to memorize the types of access and different levels of classification and so on. I thought I had it all down. However, when I got to the test, they asked a lot of questions about concepts more than anything technical. Since I am weak in these categories, I did not do well. I scored a 65.2%, missing the exam by 4.8%. icon_sad.gif

The below were my top 3 worst subjects:
Asset Security
Security and Risk Management
Software Development Security

Any suggestions on what I should do next? When I flip through the Sybex book or the Shon Harris book for these domains, the information isn't new to me. It's like the books only give you part of the information the test asks about. The test asked more in-depth questions than what the book had to offer. These domains talk about CIA or DLP. I managed a product for DLP for 5 years, so I know the area well. Not sure why I missed the domain.

I'm super upset I did not pass. Really bummed out. icon_sad.gif

Comments

• NavyMooseCCNANavyMooseCCNA Member Posts: 544 ■■■■□□□□□□