Passed CISSP First Attempt!

tchad23tchad23 Member Posts: 10 ■■□□□□□□□□
Experience
I don't have a lot of traditional IS experience, I've been doing digital forensics for 4 years and have been in the military for 6 years (not an IT MOS), so I'm not coming at this with a ton of experience. I am fairly good at studying and have a decent memory. I have passed GCFE, SEC+, CEH, and RHCSA this year and I would say that there were things I learned in all of those that helped me with this exam.

Resources (Best to worst)
  1. YOU ALL
  2. Conrad Study guide and 11th hour
  3. Kelly Handerhan Cybrary
  4. CCCure test engines
  5. Boson test engines
  6. Sybex test engines
My preparation steps:
I read the Conrad Study guide cover to cover a few months ago, and then again when I had an expected testing date. I bought the Boson test engines and went through almost all of the questions. I then was given the opportunity to go to a boot camp which was an awesome way for me to fill in the gaps that the Conrad book didn't go through. I feel like I was pretty solid before the boot camp, so I'm not sure what would have happened if I would have braved the test without it. The company paid for us to have 30 days of CCCure test engines (over 2000 questions) and I religiously did about 250 new questions every day from the end of the boot camp to today. A few days ago someone on here (or reddit, can't remember) mentioned that the Sybex test engine's questions were the closest to the actual test, so since those books were the ones that came with my course, I got the ones form the test questions book online. Those questions were a bit over-deep at times, but they are extremely close to the same type of questions (i.e. story based questions). I went through about 600 of those over the last 3 days. Throughout the whole process start to finish I had Kelly Handerhan's Cybrary MP3's loaded on my phone and I would listen to them on commutes, during workouts or when I was just sitting around.