Is Linux a good career choice?

coldbugcoldbug Member Posts: 189
Last week, my co-worker told me that there are too many people in Microsoft and the bubble will burst soon. As a young man (i'm 39 ..not young tho lol), you should get into Linux.
I have been thinking about it since that day. I think he's right. Even though I want to get into MCSA after my Sec+, I am rethinking this now. Isn't that right that there will be 10 Microsoft guys and only 1 Linux guy in a company and he's making all the big bucks. More money comes with more responsibility too I know, but it's ok I like to carry the burdens.
The problem is I have to learn it from letter A..from scratch. I have no knowledge about Linux....absolutely zero.
Do you guys think it's worth it to spend time on Linux and ditch the MS?
Thanks
"If you want to kick the tiger in his ass, you'd better have a plan for dealing with his teeth."

Comments

• TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Simply put, No. Linux is great but there will always be a need for Microsoft.
  • PC509PC509 Member Posts: 804 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Microsoft isn't going anywhere. However, knowing Linux is a great skill to have. From AWS to security to web development, there is always a need for Linux. At the very least, have a nice foundation of the OS. Be able to navigate, search, know the locations of various things, how files and devices work, etc.. It's just good stuff to know. Hell, if you want to go all in, go for it. Just know that Microsoft isn't a bubble that's going to pop. At least not anytime soon.

Of course, 2018 may finally be the year of the Linux desktop (joking, as it's been the same claim for 20 years!).
  • techfiendtechfiend Member Posts: 1,481 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Learn both, focus on the one you enjoy more, they are very different. He's right that there are typically fewer linux proper positions and they often pay a little more. I wouldn't let that sway you from enjoying windows if you prefer it.