Cert Questions

IronbeatIronbeat Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am pretty new to IT. But dreaming to enter the door though. How's the route of A+, network+, then MCSA. Is it still a feasible way to get an entry level job. I don't mind how many certs to go after, don't mind to assemble computor at the back of a shop. Just wanna have a new career. Been doing odd jobs for years, just hate it. Wanna change. Thanks!
Ironbeat

Comments

• bighornsheepbighornsheep Member Posts: 1,506
    hey! welcome to the site!

A+, network+ and MCSA is definitely a good path. How's your background with computing? A+ has been updated recently, so there's now "two" tracks you can be certified on. I think you only have a couple of months left to get the older track, and after that, it's all going to be the "2006" objectives.

http://certification.comptia.org/a/default.aspx

There's alot of things to consider when choosing a new career, money is usually the first thing. Can you afford to survive on the salary of a pc tech. where you might only be making slightly better than minimum wage? Your current career could also affect the outcome, I know cases where people with call centre background were able to jump to helpdesk/technical support jobs with a few MS exams (MCP) and thus made a decent living.

I'm not saying that helpdesk is necessarily better or worst than pc tech. and the truth is that it's probably harder to get a job as a technician without experience.

I also know of success stories from people looking into switching career using their community colleges. I know that many colleges will have co-op options built into their diploma programs, generally only 2-3 years in length, so that way you will get to have training + experience + education all in one shot in a relatively short period of time.

Good luck!
    Jack of all trades, master of none
  • IronbeatIronbeat Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□