Passed GNFA

yomistayomista Member Posts: 23 ■■□□□□□□□□
Scored 80% in the exam. This has to be the toughest SANS paper I've ever taken. I actually failed both practise exams scoring 52 and 56.

I studied for around 3 weeks straight doing the labs once and reading the books twice. GNFA is only SANS paper so far where I did not get much answers from the books. There were several scenario based questions and understanding tcpdump, iptables, Wireshark and BPFs are essential.

Having said that, don't be discouraged if you failed the practise exams. Having the wrong answers turned out to be a blessing in disguise as you learn from the answers given and its explanation. Tough exam but am grateful I managed to pass.

Comments

• waykinwaykin Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hey Yomista congrats, I scored the same and passed the exam this week as well. I was uneasy about the final score and also had like 8 seconds left to answer the last question. I felt the exam to be difficult and I could barely reference my index or books. My side of the questions were situational and it did heavily rely on knowing command line utilities and the correct switches to use. There were some questions that came from left field as well, I just used my best judgment on those. At the end I felt accomplished and proud to have gotten through it. I'm looking at the GPEN or GREM next.
  • yomistayomista Member Posts: 23 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Congrats to you too waykin! It's nice to see a fellow GNFA alumni. I don't see alot of people who's taken this SANS course. My exact sentiments on the exam and best judgement worked well for me. GREM is pretty tough so I've heard. I had a colleague who flunked GPEN twice but another colleague scored pretty high on it. I'll bet you do well on either so all the best!

As for me, I'm interested in GCTI but seems like it's not a popular course...
  • trueshrewkmctrueshrewkmc Member Posts: 107