Passed CISSP exam first attempt

opensourceropensourcer Registered Users Posts: 1 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello

I`ve been lurking around this forum for a while and reading about other peoples experience with this exam. The succuss stories have been helpful and I thought I`d give back something. I studied for almost 3 months and passed the exam the 30th of November 2017.

Background:

Bachelors in Computer Science and 11 years in the IT field. The last 8 years as a network and security engineer. I`ve earlier taken CCNP routing and switching, CCNP Security, CCDP, HPE MASE Network infrastructur, Security+, Linux+, Network+, CEH and several other certification not worth mentioning in this context.

Books:

Read CISSP Study Guide, Third Edition (Erick Conrad) once and took a lot of notes.

Read the Sybex Official Study Guide 7th Edition once and used a marker to highlight what I thought was important. I used this book as reference.

Audio/video:

Watched Kelly`s videos (Cybrary) whenever I had the chance. Very helpful. I also used the mp3`s when I was driving or walking. I even made a script that trimmed the annoying ad in the beginning and end of the files :)

Watched all of the CISSP videos at CBT Nuggets. Only because I had free access through my employer.

Shon Harris mp3`s. Listened for a few hours. Way too technical and probably outdated.

Practice tests:

Went through all the questions from Sybex twice. Probably the most helpful questions.

Took about half of the questions at CCCure.org.

(ISC)² CISSP Official Tests, Android App, did some of the questions. These questions were the most difficult ones in my opinion.

Other materials:

CISSP Combined Notes.pdf, just skimmed through.

(ISC)² CISSP Official Study, Android App, just did the first four chapters. Repetition of the Sybex book.

My own notes, skimmed through.

Exam: