Options

CISSP Passed 12/11 & SSCP Passed 12/14

H-bombH-bomb Member Posts: 129 ■■■□□□□□□□
I provisionally passed the CISSP certification on December 11/2017. I’ve been studying since August 7th 2017, so roughly 4 months of study-time. On average, I studied about 2 hours after work each day and longer on the weekends. I’d take some days off here and there because my brain tends to get overwhelmed with the vast amount of material. I believe my success came from creating my own flashcards (over 700) and being able to explain the concept or definition to myself or others. Originally, I was scheduled to take the test in January but I was so sick of studying the material I just decided to say screw it and scheduled my exam for the following day. Sunday night I checked the Pearson website and saw the test center had an opening slot the following Monday morning. I paid the $50 rescheduling fee and booked it.

My exam itself was scheduled for 8am. I arrived at the testing center lobby at 655am and waited for the test proctors to arrive. After signing in and taking my palm scan, the proctor took me to the testing area and I sat down and began the test. I plowed through all 250 questions in 3 hours with no breaks. Out of the 250, I flagged 17 for review, even though it felt like I marked more than that! At this point, I took a 10 minute break (ate a snack, went to the restroom, etc) and came back and answered the 17 flagged questions and submitted my test. I felt very confident and didn’t review any other questions, so I submitted the exam. When I walked up to the front desk to get my results the printer spit out two sheets of paper. I always heard if you get two sheets then you failed, the proctor kept one sheet and gave me the other. When I opened it I saw “Congratulations”. Such a huge relief!