Supposed to test Dec 26th but worried about the new test

clconrad1clconrad1 Member Posts: 26 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey there! I am relatively new to the forum and have been lurking. I am currently an ISSM for a DoD contractor and need to get my CISSP. I have over 10 years experience (total) in IT and Information Assurance. I took the CISSP week long boot camp in October and felt like 2 months would be plenty of time to study but I am starting to rethink that decision. I have been studying the Sybex tests from the text as well as the ACE Sybex tests from the practice test book. I have also been doing Boson. While I feel like I have a lot of knowledge I still feel it's all over the place. I have good days and bad with the testing. And I have been studying for the old way of testing and fear of the unknown with the CAT is freaking me out. My company is paying for me to have 2 tries for the test. I am not sure if I should "take one for the team" and go ahead and test on the 26th even if I don't pass, just to know what to expect, and then study more and test the 2nd time, or if I should just pay the fee to reschedule the test for after I hear more about what the new test like. What a conundrum! Based on some of the stuff others on this site have said they studied I am also second guessing if I had enough study material. Then again, I don't want to overdo it and get overwhelmed, as this is overwhelming enough for me.

What would you guys do in this situation? Just trying to look at all the different angles. Thanks!

Comments

• MIMEMIME Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'm also a DOD contractor. I'm hoping folks like you with companies willing to pay for two tries will "take one for the team" and take it on the 26th. If you were paying for it yourself I'd hold off but given your situation would go ahead and go for it! Good luck and do keep us posted on your decision.
  • shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□