Not sure what direction to go...general area of security

CompuGeorgeCompuGeorge Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I am a stay at home dad with 15+ years working in tech, mostly software and IT. I have a MS in CS and I am a decent programmer, but I don't love it...I can do it though, but I don't want to make programming my career. The issue is that I haven't worked for 10 years (other than about 10 hours a week IT work for a local non-profit) and I will be home with the kids for at LEAST another 6 years. I enjoy taking certifications as a way to keep up on the tech and I was hoping that the certifications would help me re-enter the workforce at a non-entry level job. I really enjoy security and want to focus on that area. Any suggestions what to do after the Sec+ exam? I won't have the recent work experience to do a lot of the more advanced certs like the CISSP or CISM. I don't know any Security people IRL, so I feel a bit lost.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Comments

• McxRisleyMcxRisley Member Posts: 494 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Honestly if you're going to be staying at home for at least another 6 years I don't know what all you really can do certification wise. I mean you could do some more CompTIA certs like sec+, CSA+, CASP but then you run into the problem of obtaining CEUs. I myself have never had to pay for courses in order to earn CEUs but from what I've heard it can get very expensive very quickly. Also even if you did end up doing some certs, what are you going to do with the knowledge? How do you plan to apply it if you're going to be at home for 6 years? My honest opinion, I don't see any point in picking up any certs until you are closer to being ready to go back to work.
    I'm not allowed to say what my previous occupation was, but let's just say it rhymes with architect.
  • Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□