How do I get an internship? apply to 20 and was accepted to zero.

How does one get an internship? I apply for like 20 and got zero acceptance. I'm currently enroll in WGU IT:Security program. Why am I not getting any offer? What am I doing wrong? How did you guys do it? I apply with my resume no cover letter. I have zero experience. Any tips you guys can give would be great. Thank you so much!

Your friendly IT Fan -Fainting Heart

Comments

• EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    My organization brings in several interns each year in a variety of roles. In all cases, we expect two things, that these will be entry-level people who want to learn about the real-world and that they will bring functionable abilities so they can hit the ground running in an admittedly limited capacity.

Go back through your responses, were there any you didn't parrot back that you were able to do the specific tasks they wanted from someone? IT tends to be fairly rigid in its demands, more so than the average business internship.
  • NHStudentNHStudent Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
    First, make sure that wherever you are applying actually accepts / wants interns. Assuming you have, try to see if you know anyone that works at any of these companies. Most of the interns I have hired were through knowing someone else that referred them in.

If you don't know anyone and still struggling, don't try to hit your target right away and adjust to doing something that will get you in the door. Example, if you want to do security work and have no experience, it is not likely that anyone will hire you, even as an intern. However, you could possible get some data entry position or help desk position that might provide avenues for a way into where you want to be. Just pay close attention to your opportunities within and know when to hold em and when to walk away. You are in it to build references and also need to advertise your interests to help bring in opportunities.

Good luck!