In a bit of a predicament...

r_zarrillor_zarrillo Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello fellow IT enthusiasts and Cert-Geeks! My name is Ryan and this is my first post. I've lurked on here before and even had an account but could not remember the email I used to sign up with, unfortunately.

I won't small talk anymore than that, I have a very simple question and I highly value this websites memberships opinions and advice.

I'm currently studying for the CompTIA A+ and am nearly ready to take it, however I am also a student in college and next semester I am taking a class that prepares you for the SYO-401. After a google search I saw the SY0-401 is no longer the most current certification in that field. I am majoring in computer science with a focus on InfoSec. My concern is I have very minimal networking experience and in addition would rather have the more recent certification. So my questions/concerns are two fold:

1. I will have taken the A+ sometime between late February and early March, will the information about networking on the A+ be enough to understand the material covered in the Security+ exams?

2. Even though this class prepares for the SY0-401 should I hold out and just learn what I can from this class and whatever additional objectives were added to the 501 during the summer break? Is it even a good idea to be studying for two certifications simultaneously? I'm also very well versed in Linux and do fairly well on most practice exams without hardly even cracking open a book to learn about it so where would that fit in?