Options

Lfcs

bigdizizzlebigdizizzle Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Anyone have any experience with this certification? My employer has agreed to pay for it, so I signed up yesterday - but just assumed I would be able to grab a decent textbook - which there doesn't seem to be a lot of . If anyone cares to recommend a book (sybex are typically my favorite) that would closely align with the goals of the LFCS (RHCA?) I'd appreciate it. I'm not new to linux, but I've never written a linux cert before. TIA!

Comments

• Options
    yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    No such thing as a textbook for this exam yet, unfortunately. No writing anything really either as it's 100% hands-on. My favorite reference was Sander Van Vugt's video series, which comes along with a Safari books subscription. This cert takes considerable research effort in my opinion, since the exam objectives do not closely align with the actual exam scenario questions. They do in a vague way. There is an official course available but it also does not match the exam all that well, since the course maker and the exam makers don't really collaborate.

This disappoints me as I am a huge Linux fan and pretty much a non-Windows user, yet this is the way the Linux Foundation is doing it.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP
  • Options
    chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    As yoba stated, you will have to do some additional research on your own. This is not a multiple choice test and you will be asked to configure the system with different tasks. Either you configured them or you did not. No multiple choice questions. Below is what I had to do to pass.

Study utilities:
    The Linux Foundation LFS101 Introduction to Linux (MUST master!) FREE resrouce
    The Linux Foundation LFS201 Essentials of Linux System Administration (Also must master!) Must pay course/exam voucher bundle