CISSP Pass!

KiyoriKiyori Member Posts: 40 ■■■□□□□□□□
[FONT=&amp]I passed the CISSP today! It was 100 questions of anxiety, such an emotional roller coaster. I copied the review I published on LinkedIn. Hopefully it can help others in their journey :)

Today, I had the opportunity to sit for the (ISC)2 Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) exam, which I had been studying for since July (almost 7 months). I am thrilled to have successfully passed this exam, as it has been a goal since I set foot into the world of information security. I wanted to share the resources and methods I used to prepare, so that others who are considering this exam can get some insight.
[/FONT][FONT=&amp]
The first significant task I needed to accomplish was actually committing myself to the exam – I had to decide that no matter what position I ended up in, or how much gym time I had to sacrifice, I would continue to study, study, study. With committing myself to the CISSP, I decided that I would also need to find a friend or group of friends who wanted to go on this journey together. Doing this allowed us to encourage and keep each other accountable.
[/FONT]
[FONT=&amp] Secondly, a solid study plan was necessary. We developed study plans – we outlined which resources to use, expected and expedited dates to sit for the exam, dates on which each topic/task/virtual lab would be accomplished, and obstacles that might hinder progress. I had to stay flexible and adjusted a couple tasks due to time constraints; sometimes life happened and I had to forego studying. I also had to drop a college programming course (that hurt my soul) – I was averaging about 6 hours/program and there 5 programs/week. I decided that I needed that time for the CISSP and to come back to that course later. I attempted to include days that I was feeling burnt out and needed to take breaks; studying definitely pushed my discipline to the limits during the holiday season!
[/FONT]