1/18 CISSP Passed

adamj2281adamj2281 Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've followed this forum quite a bit for both Security+ (passed in November) and now CISSP.
  • Background info:
    • MS-Applied Physics
    • 12 years Systems Engineer Experience - mostly ESS and some CISSP-related topics (backup management, DIACAP, some RMF, etc.)
    • Recently took new position as an Information Systems Analyst (October 2017)
    • As stated - I studied/took the Security+ exam in November, studied for it for roughly 3 weeks.
  • Reference Material
    • Sybex CISSP 7th Edition Guide/Practice Tests (Primary Source)
      • This was my main study material and does an adequate job of setting a foundation.
      • Completed all of the practice tests/domain tests as I read through the material
      • Went back and did text searches on topics that I stuggled with.
      • The tests were helpful, but definitely not as difficult as the actual exam.
    • Cybrary
      • Kelly's videos were really helpful for big picture overviews and capturing the focus of the test.
    • Transcender Tests
      • Some info was not pertinent and/or wrong, but it was difficult enough to challenge you.
      • The search text function is great for focusing on topics you struggle with
    • Conrad 11th Hour
      • Probably didn't need this; brief overview.
    • McGraw-Hill
      • Used these a bit on topics I needed help with, just to see more questions.
I used OneNote and organized my notes from CISSP and Cybrary by domain. I took a lot of practice tests (probably went through most of Sybex twice - counting the questions I took online). I was scoring in the 80% on the Sybex exams just picking a random selection of 50-100 questions from the online bonus exams. I'm sure this was skewed to the higher side since probably 75% of the questions I had seen before.

The test ended after 100 questions, it's definitely a wide range of topics, and difficult.