Options

New to .Net

wideboy_westwideboy_west Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All

I am a Informix programmer looking to get some certs over the next 18 months while my I.T department gets JDE installed and slings us all on the scrap heap.

Looking at a Microsoft cert, not too sure to go MCAD or MCTS. What do you guys think?

Whichever way can anyone recommend books, websites etc for someone new to the .NET frame work? Mostly likely be VB, not C#.

I have XP home, do I need XP PRO?

Any pointers will be appreciated

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,026 Admin
    The first thing you will need to decide is if you will be working with the latest .NET framework(version 2.0 & 3.0) and Visual Studio 2005, or you will be working on legacy systems that use the older .NET 1.x framework and Visual Studio 2003. This is important because the older MCAD/MCSD certifications only cover .NET 1.x, while the newer MCTS/MCPD certifications only cover .NET 2.0 and later. If you do not have a job requiring you to work on older .NET solutions, go with the newer .NET 2.0 and VS.NET 2005.

You do not need XP Pro to program in .NET. Just download the free Visual Studio Express for Visual Basic from Microsoft's Web site and you are ready to start learning. I also advise downloading SQL Server 2005 Express and learning some SQL Server and ADO.NET programming, which is a skill commonly associated with VB programming jobs. Web client programming and Web services are popular programming topics too.