CISM Application - please help

SturekscStureksc Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everybody,
I just passed the CISM exam. I have a couple of questions regarding the application.

1. Page A2 (Section A and B): What is the definition of "General Information Security"? I am the Director of IT at my company, and I do have "Information Security Management"experience as I started and established the cyber security program at my company.
I can claim around 7 years of experience in "Information Security Management". I was an Application Developer before and never really worked on information security prior to assuming this Director of IT role. Does that mean that I cannot claim any experience in "General Information Security" section? I am little confused. Would really appreciate your help.

2. Page V-1: I report to the CFO. Should I ask him to attest sections 1 and 2 only? Will that work? Since my boss is not a security professional, is he qualified to attest section 3 and 4?

Thank you all for your help.
Stan

Comments

• PJ_SneakersPJ_Sneakers Member Posts: 884 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Not to be a smartass, but. It's self explanatory, look and see if what you did in your job matches the sentence next to the checkbox.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,021 Admin
    Looking at page V-1 on the CISM application under the section Employer's Verification, there does not seem to be a requirement that the employer answering the verification questions be an InfoSec professional.

Contact [email protected] to get the official ruling.
  • roxerroxer Member Posts: 130 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You just need 5 years as an IS manager, so you are covered with seven. You can only put up to ten years on the primary anyway--the rest has to be IT Management related. An no, you do not need a security pro to sign off. It just needs to be someone in a high enough position--think VP/CIO or above--that can vouch for you and sign the form.
  • SturekscStureksc Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□