Is it worth having both the CISSP and the CISM

adebluadeblu Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I passed my CISM two years ago, and now I'm studying for the CISSP. Is it worth having both? It almost seems like the same content. How beneficial job hunting wise is it to have both? Who has both and how marketable has it made you?

Comments

• mattster79mattster79 Member Posts: 135 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Made a big difference for me. I also see lots of job postings asking for both certs.
    CISSP
    CISM
  • TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Jobs in the U.S. are usually one of the two...but CISSP is seen as the gold standard so it will show up more frequently, where the CISM is a lot less known. I believe there is only like 30,000 CISM worldwide and around 80,000 CISSP in the U.S., which is more a testament of how many people will be familiar with one over the other not necessarily an exclusive club like with a CCIE for example.
  • tedjamestedjames Member Posts: 1,179 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Most people I know earn CISSP first and then earn CISM only if they want to move into management/leadership positions, such as CISO or CIO. It's true that CISSP will open more doors for you.

A former co-worker earned CISSP and then sat for the CISM exam a few years later without studying. He said there was a lot of crossover.

If I were in your shoes, I'd pursue CISSP. Having CISSP and CISM together will do you a lot of good, depending on your career goals.
  • DZA_DZA_ Member Posts: 467 ■■■■■■■□□□
    mattster79 wrote: »
    Made a big difference for me. I also see lots of job postings asking for both certs.

I'm literally writing my CISM this Saturday morning. icon_sad.gif I'm anxious to get it over with!

Cheers,
    DZA_
  • mattster79mattster79 Member Posts: 135 ■■□□□□□□□□
    DZA_ wrote: »
    I'm literally writing my CISM this Saturday morning. icon_sad.gif I'm anxious to get it over with!

Cheers,
    DZA_

Good luck for tomorrow 👍🍀
    CISSP
    CISM