Anyone else take the HCISPP?

cledford3cledford3 Member Posts: 66 ■■■□□□□□□□
Just signed up for ISC2 "official" training class for HCISPP. I've been in security engineering (firewalls, network security, VPN, IPS) for almost 20 years - with the last 12 in Healthcare IT. I've been a "security analyst" (IR, Security Policy, Endpoint EPP/EDR, Advanced malware protection, DLP) officially now for 2.5 years. I've been studying on/off again for almost 3 years for CISSP and just keep procrastinating. My employer (a midsized Healthcare system) offered to pay for the HCISPP out of end of year 2017 budget and I thought "why not?" I'm hoping to burn through it (class on 2/19) and use it as motivation for wrapping up CISSP.

Any thoughts on exam or advice on banging it out? I'm waiting on ISC2 book. I'm already reading through:

"Healthcare Information Security and Privacy" - Sean P. Murphy

Any online resources recommended?

Thanks,

-Calvin

Comments

• talbert80talbert80 Member Posts: 29 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hi Calvin,

I have the HCISPP. The book you have is sufficient. I did not like the ISC2 book. Here's the list of what I used to study. You want to really understand the process/ tools used in the steps in the NIST Special Publications. There may be a strong focus on risk management, incident response, business continuity, understanding what a business associate is under HIPAA, the number of individuals affected before public breach notification, and other federal requirements for breach notification (Federal Trade Commission).

Study Guides

HCISPP Study Guide (dark blue book with orange letters)

Healthcare Information Security and Privacy (Murphy)

Frameworks

ISO Publication – 27002:2005 or 27002:2013 (understand risk assessment process)

HITRUST (understand what the framework is and what it covers)

NIST RMF 800-37

Federal Legislation/Standards

PIPEDA privacy principles (Canada)

Data protection Directive (EU) privacy principles

EU-US Safe Harbor

HIPAA Security Rule