Advice on a job decision

JD20JD20 Member Posts: 66 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello everybody,I've came to another point in my life where I have to make a career decision. As I don't have "a lot" of experience in IT, it's difficult for myself to make these types of decisions. I graduated last year with an A.A.S in Computer Networking Technologies while working Help Desk with the school's IT department. Once I graduated, I was able to land a job at a small ISP doing Tier 1 duties (verifying power/equipment, checking duplex settings, etc.) which I've been doing for almost 10 moths. They pay for my WGU tuition and any networking certs I want to take. The company really likes me and says my advancement opportunities will come soon.I just got offered a job at a MSP for Level 2 support. It's a smaller company as well, supporting small businesses. It seems like there will be advancement opportunities here too (something that's really important to me). The job would give me a 25% increase in pay. Should I stay at my current position or take the job at the MSP? Is there anything I should be thinking about in making this decision? Any advice would be useful.

Comments

• NutsyNutsy Member Posts: 136
    JD20,

First off, try to develop a spreadsheet to see the apple-to-apple comparison on compensation. Also, do include what any commute would cost you. Second, does the MSP provide a path to get where you want to go professionally quicker?

For the smaller company I would have asked during interviews who has moved up. How long it took. Why was that person able to move up? (IE: company growth, departure of someone, so on.) Also, go on linkedin and see if you can find anyone who used to work there, and left. Try to take them out to coffee. You should get a good feel about the people, and culture.

HTH
  • NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Will the new job also offer tuition reimbursement?
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.