what certification should I go for as a student?

versoleversole Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm a student who recently got into college and I'm really stressing over which certification would be good for me, either going to CompTIA A+ or Cisco CCNA. I have a deep passion for cybersecurity. So far I have heard is that getting A+ is good for people who want to enter into IT field, but I believe I have already had the basic knowledge of operating the computer and fixing them. Back when I was in high school my teacher even give a book for A+ and I have studied over it, and watch YouTube videos about it. So I have pretty solid knowledge of A+ but as for other certification, I have not studied them but willing to study them. All I am asking is which certification should I be going for as a person who is passioned about cyber security but did not actually have job experience. One more thing I'm low on money, so I want my first certification to be beneficial to me with my financial situation. Also, I don't want to be a customer support but a person who get his hands dirty. Thank you.

Comments

• N7ValiantN7Valiant Member Posts: 363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm going to have to break some bad news to you:
    It's highly unlikely any cert is going to get you into cybersecurity without experience in the IT field.

That's actually a pretty rational thought process. Who would trust a new guy with no experience to defend their company networks against hackers and their tools?

The 3 basic certs (A+, Network+, Security+) would be good to get your foot in the door, but not really in Cybersecurity. If you're tight on cash, maybe do only A+ or Net+ and take the Security+ close to the end of the 3 year period the A+/Net+ is good for. Also try to scrounge up maybe 3 months of volunteer work as an IT tech for a non-profit or 3, as the experience would go further than your certs(but you might need at least the A+ to get volunteer work).