Is it possible to skip pass the Helpdesk and try apply for NOC techcian jobs instead?

I am currently attending WGU BS:IT Security. I should be done with WGU October 2019. After graduating.
Is it possible to skip the helpdesk role and apply for NOC related position? I have no experience and want to go straight to NOC technician role. Is it possible? Or do I have to pay my dues at Helpdesk?
My goal is to become a Network Engineer. Thank you so much and hope to get any advice.

Comments

• volfkhatvolfkhat Member Posts: 1,046 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You can do whatever you want.

There's no rule that you have to do "x" before doing "y or z".

Really, you just need some luck.
  • TechGromitTechGromit Member Posts: 2,156 ■■■■■■■■■□
    NOC are 24 hour operations, so if your willing to work on grave shift, yes I can see you skipping the help desk and getting a NOC job. Once you get a couple years experience, you can get on day shift and advance from there.
    Still searching for the corner in a round room.
  • faintingheartfaintingheart Member Posts: 256
    Thats a good idea working grave yard shift. I think I should do graveshift after graduation. Thanks.
  • EnderWigginEnderWiggin Member Posts: 551 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you're looking for graveyard shifts, you might as well start now. Those shifts typically have a ;lot of free time in which you could get some studying done. No sense in waiting around.
  • NutsyNutsy Member Posts: 136
    Most of the guys that I work with started straight out of college at a NOC for a major ISP.
  • thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Yes, I think it&s possible you just have to find the jobs and apply. I think getting your CCNA or at least a CCENT will help out a lot as well.
  • the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    NOC and Helpdesk, at least in my experience, have been considered basically entry level. You shouldn't have any issues.
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages